Connect with us


LIA’s Critical Illness (CI) Definitions Have Changed: Here’s What You Need To Know About CI Plans You Bought (Or Intend To Buy)

From 26 August 2020 onwards, all critical illness policies sold in Singapore must comply with the 2019 framework. Of the 37 defined critical illnesses, changes have been made to 14 headers and 21 definitions.

In consultation with the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), the Life Insurance Association of Singapore (LIA) announced on 29 August 2019 that changes will be made to the standard list of 37 critical illnesses (CIs) definitions.

This latest round of changes is referred to as the LIA Critical Illness (CI) Framework 2019. The previous version of LIA CI definitions was announced in 2014.

Having a common definition and list of critical illnesses across the industry helps consumers, since it is easier to compare products from various insurers and know that all the bases are covered, without being worried that some CIs are covered by one insurer, and not by another.

Here’s what these changes are exactly, and how it will affect existing (and future) critical illness insurance policies.

Read Also: Guide To Understanding How Critical Illness Policy Works

What Exactly Has Changed In The Critical Illness Definitions?

Of the 37 critical illnesses defined under the LIA framework, changes have been made to the headers of 14 of them, while changes have been made in 21 of the definitions.

Here ‘s an overview of the CI headers and their respective changes in bold. An asterisk has been appended to critical illnesses with changes to the wording of their definitions.

1. Major Cancers*
2. Heart Attack of Specified Severity*
3. Stroke with Permanent Neurological Deficit*
4. Coronary Artery By-pass Surgery
5. End Stage Kidney Failure
6. Irreversible Aplastic Anaemia*
7. End Stage Lung Disease
8. End Stage Liver Failure
9. Coma*
10. Deafness (Irreversible Loss of Hearing)*
11. Open Chest Heart Valve Surgery
12. Irreversible Loss of Speech*
13. Major Burns
14. Major Organ / Bone Marrow Transplantation
15. Multiple Sclerosis*
16. Muscular Dystrophy*
17. Idiopathic Parkinson’s Disease*
18. Open Chest Surgery to Aorta
19. Alzheimer’s Disease / Severe Dementia*
20. Fulminant Hepatitis
21. Motor Neurone Disease
22. Primary Pulmonary Hypertension
23. HIV Due to Blood Transfusion and Occupationally Acquired HIV*
24. Benign Brain Tumour*
25. Severe Viral Encephalitis*
26. Severe Bacterial Meningitis
27. Angioplasty & Other Invasive Treatment For Coronary Artery
28. Blindness (Irreversible Loss of Sight)*
29. Major Head Trauma*
30. Paralysis (Irreversible Loss of Use of Limbs)
31. Terminal Illness
32. Progressive Scleroderma*
33. Persistent Vegetative State (Apallic Syndrome)
34. Systemic Lupus Erythematosus with Lupus Nephritis*
35. Other Serious Coronary Artery Disease*
36. Poliomyelitis*
37. Loss of Independent Existence*

You can read the exact word-for-word changes implemented in the LIA Critical Illness (CI) Framework 2019 for more details. In essence, the definitions have been tightened and made more specific, which means there is less ‘grey area’ when it comes to making claims.

Read Also: Critical Illness Plans: 5 Things You Didn’t Know Were Excluded From Traditional CI Plans

What Do These CI Definition Changes Mean For Current And Future Policyholders?

Insurers have until 26 August 2020 to comply with the new CI framework. This means that on 26 August 2020 onwards, all critical illness policies sold in Singapore must follow the 2019 framework. This applies to individual and group insurance policies, as well as standalone CI policies and CI riders.

Read Also: Understanding Critical Illness Plans: How Different Types Of CI Plans Work

As we know, critical illness policies are important, but can be pricey. The tightened definitions should help keep premium costs in check, since there is less ambiguity over what can be claimed and what cannot.

It helps prevent the situation where you think you’re covered for something because of looser wording of the CI definition, only to find out that your claim is rejected. Also undesirable is everyone having to pay higher premiums because other customers are enjoying a low bar for making claims.

Thus, we should not allow ourselves to be rushed to buy CI plans under the older definitions by financial advisers wishing to make a quick buck and taking advantage of our ‘fear of missing out’.

If you already have an existing CI policy with the older (more lenient) definitions, know that it will continue to be honoured for as long as your policy is in force. If you’re considering buying new CI policy today, you can check with your adviser which version of definitions are used.

LIA has stated that it will continue to review the CI framework’s continued relevance every three years, in line with evolving medical trends and consumer demands, so such reviews to the CI definitions will be a routine and ongoing process.

Read Also: How Young Working Adults In Singapore Can Enjoy Adequate Insurance Protection For Less Than $150 Per Month

Advertiser Message

Invest Your Supplementary Retirement Scheme (SRS) Funds with MoneyOwl and Get Up to S$200 shopping e-vouchers

If you are intending to contribute to your SRS account to enjoy tax relief while saving for your retirement, don’t just stop there, invest your SRS funds to grow and accumulate wealth for a comfortable retirement. For a limited time only, receive up to $200 eCapitaVouchers when you invest your SRS funds with MoneyOwl. Find out more about MoneyOwl’s SRS promotion here.

What’s to say? The future’s a hoot when you invest wisely! Grab it while it lasts, promotion is valid from 9 November to 31 December 2020.