Vaccinated Travel Lane; Air Travel Pass; Reciprocal Green Lane: What You Need To Know About Singapore’s Travel Agreements

As an air travel hub and very open economy, reopening the skies will be something Singapore and Singapore residents look forward to. With 83% of the local population already fully vaccinated, restarting travel will be a welcomed boost to the economy.

There are three main travel lanes today:

To-date, Singapore has the following travel arrangements:

  • Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL)
    • Germany (from 8 Sep 2021)
    • Brunei (from 8 Sep 2021)
    • Canada (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • Denmark (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • France (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • Italy (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • Netherlands (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • Spain (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • United Kingdom (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • United States (from 19 Oct 2021)
    • Republic of Korea (ROK) (from 15 Nov 2021)
    • Finland (from 28 Nov 2021)
    • India (from 28 Nov 2021)
    • Indonesia (from 28 Nov 2021)
    • Malaysia (Air) (from 28 Nov 2021)
    • Malaysia (Land) (from 29 Nov 2021)
    • Sweden (from 28 Nov 2021)
    • Qatar (from 5 Dec 2021)
    • Saudi Arabia (from 5 Dec 2021)
    • UAE (from 5 Dec 2021)
    • Thailand (from 13 Dec 2021)
    • Cambodia (from 15 Dec 2021)
    • Fiji (from 15 Dec 2021)
    • Maldives (from 15 Dec 2021)
    • Sri Lanka (from 15 Dec 2021)
    • Turkey (from 15 Dec 2021)
  • Air Travel Pass (ATP)
    • Hong Kong (from 26 Aug 2021)
    • Macao (from 26 Aug 2021)
    • China
    • Taiwan
  • Reciprocal Green Lane (RGL)
    • China (only from Chongqing, Guangdong, Jiangsu, Shanghai, Tianjin and Zhejiang)
    • Brunei

For all travellers, pre-existing requirements such as getting a visa is still necessary. Travellers will also have to adhere to new requirements, such as using the local country’s tracing app – for example, the TraceTogether app in Singapore.

Here is a summary of the different agreements with different countries.

Read Also: 3 Things For Business Owners To Be ‘Positive’ About From PM Lee Address On Singapore’s COVID-19 Situation

Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL)

From 8 September 2021, Singapore opened a Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) arrangement with Germany and Brunei. Given that there were only two imported cases, who were both tested positive on-arrival and isolated, the VTL has been extended. From 19 October 2021, Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom (U.K.) and United States (U.S.) will be included, from 15 November, South Korea will be included.

More countries were subsequently announced, including Finland, India, Indonesia Malaysia (Air), and Sweden from 28 November 2021, Malaysia (Land) from 29 November 2021, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE from 5 December 2021, Thailand from 13 December 2021, and Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey from 15 December 2021.

VTLs are typically one-way, which means travellers are able to enter Singapore quarantine-free. Travellers looking to visit overseas countries from Singapore need to check on their individual eligibility, as well as the individual country’s travel restrictions for visitors from Singapore.

As its name suggests, the VTL corridor will only be applicable for fully vaccinated travellers. I.e. 14 days has passed since they were received the full regimen of the Pfizer-BioNTech/Comirnaty, Moderna or WHO EUL Vaccines. Travellers have to carry along electronic or physical copies of documents applicable to them such as:

  • an accepted proof of vaccination
  • Negative pre-departure COVID-19 test
  • Valid Vaccinated Travel Pass (VTP)
  • COVID-19 insurance policy
  • Valid visa

Travellers have to apply for a free-of-charge Vaccinated Travel Pass (VTP) 7 to 30 calendar days before their entry into Singapore. Travellers who require visas to enter Singapore should do so separately from the VTL arrangement. Travellers must also fly into Singapore on a VTL-designated flight.

Travellers must continue to undergo 2 PCR tests:

1) within 48 hours prior to their departure (A negative test result must be obtained in English)

2) a PCR test upon arrival in Singapore

2 additional PCR tests requirements for Day 3 and Day 7 have been removed.

Short-term travellers must also purchase a minimum coverage of S$30,000 for COVID-19-related medical treatment and hospitalisation costs is required. They must carry an electronic or physical copy of their insurance policy to facilitate their entry into Singapore.

Travellers are required to self-isolate (alone or with other household members who are vaccinated and have the same travel history, arrival date and self-isolation requirement) until they receive a negative on-arrival COVID-19 PCR test result.

Travellers will also be required to abide by travel protocols such as using the TraceTogether app.


Unlike VTL, Air Travel Passes just one way. Overseas travellers will be able to enter Singapore more freely, while Singapore travellers (even for those returning) may face heightened border restrictions when travelling to those countries.

The countries that Singapore have placed on the Air Travel Pass includes Hong Kong, Macao, China, Taiwan. Travellers must have spent the last consecutive 14 days in the respective countries before departing for Singapore on a direct flight, without transit.

Upon arrival, travellers will have to bear the cost of taking a PCR test upon arrival. Results will be out within 48 hours, and typically in about 12 hours. Visitors must arrange for their transportation from the airport to their declared accommodation. If they test negative, they will be allowed to go about their activities in Singapore without a Stay-Home Notice (SHN).

Travellers have to purchase COVID-19 travel insurance, with a minimum coverage of $30,000 for COVID-19-related medical treatment and hospitalisation costs.

Reciprocal Green Lane (RGL)

Reciprocal Green Lane Agreements are two-way travel arrangements mainly for business and official purposes. With only China and Brunei currently on the RGL, travellers from these locations may opt to enter Singapore via the ATP and VTL respectively.

This is because the RGL requires more stringent criteria, including having to be sponsored by a local company or government agency.

Periodic Commuting Arrangement (PCA)

Travellers who are considering the PCA may wish to apply for the VTL with Malaysia (Land) instead. This is because there will be no SHN requirements under the VTL, there also isn’t any restriction on the number of days they have to spend in any country.

The PCA “allows Singapore and Malaysia residents, who hold valid work passes in the other country, to enter that country for work”. This is via Woodlands Checkpoint or Tuas Checkpoint.

Travellers to Singapore under this scheme will have to serve a Stay-Home Notice and take a Covid-19 test before the Notice period ends. However, applicants can apply for a waiver of the Stay-Home Notice (SHN), and if granted, they can take the PCR test at the checkpoint at their own cost.

After at least 90 days in their country of work, they can return to their home country for short-term home leave. Then, they may re-enter their country of work to continue working for at least another 90 days.

Read Also: Guide To Period Commuting Arrangement (PCA): How Malaysian Employees Can Enter Singapore For Work

This article was first published on 21 September 2020 and has been updated with latest information.

Building a Sustainable Future

Be part of the Singapore Green Plan 2030 and achieve your business’ sustainability goals. Fund your green initiatives today with the OCBC SME Sustainable Financing Framework.

Subscribe To The DollarsAndSense Business Pass

Enjoy what you are reading and want more? Join The DollarsAndSense Business Pass and unlock access to valuable tools, exclusive networking opportunities, and tap into the wisdom of industry experts to fuel your business expansion!

You May Also Like